Mushy Bananas into Delicious Pancakes. Voila! (3/11/13)

Old, mushy bananas
Old, mushy bananas

I had a bunch of bananas that were going brown. I’m sure this happens in many households and people don’t normally want to eat them if they are soft and mushy. I tried to think of other things I could do with them to avoid throwing them out. I took 2 bananas, sliced them up, and put them in a zip lock baggie and froze them, saving them for my next smoothie. (I also have leftover raspberries and strawberries I froze last week.  Blend all those with some mint or spinach, and we’ve got ourselves a yummy, cold, and refreshing beverage).

Pancakes
Pancakes

For the other bananas, I was trying to come up with something that I knew I could do that very minute. I looked in my pantry and found some maple syrup and all of a sudden I had a craving for pancakes. Being a baker I always have flour in the house.  So, I got some flour, butter, an egg, sugar, and water and whipped up a batter.  After tossing in the bananas and chocolate chips I had an amazing brunch. I normally would not have made this but it was delicious and filling.  Plus, I saved the bananas! Baking with fruit is something I plan on doing more to avoid wasting. (Roxy Rusek)

Leave a Reply

