Refillable Home Fries (2/16/13)

I love brunch.  In fact, for the past three years I’ve renewed my New Year’s resolution to try more new brunch places (which I just happen to be rocking).  So, when I started reading about the Eco-Chef, his brunch food-saving strategies of turning hamburger buns into French toast, and offering diners smaller portions of refillable home fries caught my attention.  When I was out to brunch this weekend I started thinking about it again.  I ordered an omelette that came with home fries, and my friend got crabby eggs Benedict (also with home fries).  We both had no problem finishing our egg dishes.  And, the home fries were delicious and a good addition.  But, neither one of us managed to finish the heaping portion they had offered.  So, at the end of the meal the waitress took our dishes away and those poor, carefully seasoned and delightfully cooked potatoes made their way into the trashcan.  If only there had been an Eco-chef in the kitchen, dishing out smaller portions.  I wonder what would have happened if I had asked for just a couple of potatoes.  Perhaps, I’ll try that next time as a way to save food and make that a part of this year’s resolution…  (Lauren Hirshon)

Leave a Reply

