Shopping in My Fridge (1/20/13)

Time to go shopping in my fridge!
Time to go shopping in my fridge!

Today I decided to skip the grocery store and go shopping in my freezer instead. I’ve been hoarding two tuna steaks for the last couple of months. I was waiting until that perfect moment when I had a craving or wanted to whip up a nice dinner for a friend. Best to eat them now, instead of continuing to wait and then realizing in a few months that they were no longer good. For seasoning, I relied on the food I had on hand – some garlic, lemon juice and olive oil. I even made a bit of tartar sauce from mayo and dill pickles that hadn’t been opened yet. I have to admit, they were pretty delicious, and I’ll enjoy steak #2 for lunch tomorrow. I also read up on composting in a city apartment. If I bought one of those special bins, it could be doable… (Lauren Hirshon)

Leave a Reply

